I don't know if this behavior is by design, but I don't remember it being an issue in NSM 8.1. We've recently migrated to a new 8.2 NSM instance and I cannot delete a fault if it has been acknowledged--even if I was the one that acknowledged it. I must unacknowledge it and then I can delete it. Is this normal? If so, can the behavior be changed?
Which version of 8.2 are you on?
Were the alerts you have acknowledged created on the server where you are trying to delete them? Or are you deleting them from a central manager?
I have tested this on V220.127.116.11 and v18.104.22.168.1 and I do not have this issue. I can acknowledge alerts and then delete them without having to acknowledge them first.
I hope to have some of my test servers upgraded to 22.214.171.124 later today or tomorrow and will test it on that version too.
We're on 126.96.36.199. A bit of extra info, the user activity log seems to think my deletes are successful:
System Fault Deletion Success Deleted system fault types "Link failure of Port: 11A, Link failure of Port: 11B".
It's a known issue, resolved at manager hotfix version 188.8.131.52.1. As hotfixes are only available from support (this should exist in the next public MR release as well), open a support ticket or call into the support queue, and mention this bug # to get a copy of the hotfix:
1098216 Unable to delete acknowledged faults in the System Faults page.