Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
davj
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 9

postal label trojan

Hi,

hope i'm doing this right, i'm a clueless noob and i'm not that used to windows as i normally use a mac

a couple of days ago my sister got an email saying she had a parcel that could not be delivered and she had to click on a link to print out a label for it. Being even more clueless than me, she clicked on it.

I'm not 100% sure what happened as she panicked, but she says a window opened asking if she really wanted to download and run it. She smelt a rat and clicked cancel. I ran a virus scan and it showed two files,

f_000c80 and post_label_us.zip, which it says are both downloader-crd trojans and have been quarantined. I have not had chance to do anything about this since as i have been working, i am now running another scan to see what that detects. Does the presence of these files mean she has run the trojan, or are they just downloaded ready to run? how do i find out, and more importantly, how do i tell if they have been fully removed? sorry this is all a bit vague, hope somebody can give me some pointers, thanks

8 Replies
Reliable Contributor exbrit
Reliable Contributor
Message 2 of 9

Re: postal label trojan

If they have been quarantined then they are safely out of the way. 

Open the quarantine folder to check by double-clicking the taskbar icon to open SecurityCenter.

Click Navigation (top right)

Click Quarantined and Trusted Items from the list below.

Those items should be in one of those 3 sections - click to expand.

They can then be deleted from there.   Sometimes that may stick as there are too many items to display, if that happens I will post more instructions.

I think the fact that she clicked cancel did the trick and stopped anything from running in this case.

Good job she did that.  Who ever heard of you having to print a label for something that isn't even in your possession?

These scammers work in many devious ways.