cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Vundo

Hi I am a newbie to this forum, like some others I searched through support because Vundo kept coming back and McAfee doesn't seem to take care of it and ended up in the forums. Windows Live Care detected the Vundo on my PC but could not clean it. With this Trojan does anyone know if I am safe transferring files from My Documents onto my portable back up drive? I will try Super Anti SPyware and MBAM now - wish me luck! I think this Vundo has disabled my Automatic updates and my McAfee so I hope this works. If this doesn't work would it just be easier to back up my files and do a system restore?

Lots of Thanks to all of those with the knowledge to help others like myself!
Tags (1)
5 Replies
Highlighted
Level 9
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 6

RE: Vundo

Giving you your own thread and split your post from the other. It's probably better to clean the computer instead of a system restore. But that's just my opinion...
If the above advise doesn't work then you might even download the HijackThis tool, read how to create a log file and post that log file to another forum, where they have the experts to help you *read* the log file and advise you in taking more steps. For instance this forum: Bleepingcomputer.
Highlighted
Level 7
Message 3 of 6

Just to clarify, did you mean reformat your hard drive and reinstall your OS,
or use system restore to restore your computer to a previous (saved) state?

As Jubo said , if possible, it's better to let a HJT expert clean your computer.

Windows system restore saves copy's of all files , even bad ones.

From Bleeping Computer:

Problems with System Restore