cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

My first trojan experience.

A trojan was recently quarantined and removed with help from Mcafee. But Im not sure how long it was there or what damage may have been done. After the files were removed it was recomended that I reinstall Mcafee in order to resolve some unrelated error messege issues. So the new installation has a different interface than the old one and I noticed something about real time scanning. Did the other version with the old interface also have real time scanning? If it did than I suspect that the trojan was only present for about an hour or so while I was trying to get support. Im a novice at this and am still a little worried. Im just trying to put my mind at ease. Any help from a Mcafee rep would be appreciated.

5 Replies
Highlighted

Re: My first trojan experience.

Moving thread to the security awareness area.

We do upgrade our consumer products from time to time and as part of this upgrade the user interface does tend to change too. Without knowing what you were previously running I can't say for definite that Artemis was enabled, but it's very likely as the technology has been in the consumer product for about two years.

It's hard to say how long the suspect file was on your machine - do you happen to recall what the detection name was?

Hope this helps,

Sam

Highlighted

Not completely sure the name, there were two files both begining with Fake Alert, I beleive one of them was called Fake Alert-AVPSec.e. Also, I think one or both had something to do with Java. I am not sure which version of Mcafee I had before but it has been less than two years sinc I purchased it.

Highlighted