cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sutieday
Level 7

Mcafee doesn't fix Artemis false positives in a timely manner

Jump to solution

Here is the link to a file that comes in a game called "Payday 2". I play and recieve the files from Steam. When I load the game Mcafee keeps flagging the file as a virus, causing the game to fail. I sent them an email trying to get it fixed and the automated system sent me a response and I never got anything back after that, and weeks later the file is still being detected. What is going on at Mcafee??? I later foung out that I can't exclude files that are falsely detected by Artemis. This is a pain as most security products will allow you to exlude files from realtime scanning but Mcafee does not. I find that crazy for a security product that has been around for years. The fact that I have to email them a file and not even have the false positive removed is ridiculous! This is my first time on the Mcafee forums so please I would like some help in getting this FP resolved as soon as possible. I am currently using Mcafee Total Protection- All Access provided by my ISP on my home pc, but on this one I'm using Comodo IS Premium because they unlike Mcafee are actually able to fix False Detections!

Virustotal link of False Positive:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/f695e41d28c23e7907fde1e47f53a4328b984746f3dbb72dfbaceab85e3496fd/...

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vinoo
Level 13

Re: Mcafee doesn't fix Artemis false positives in a timely manner

Jump to solution

That's whitelisted as well now. Give it ~25 mins for cloud to get updated.

0 Kudos
21 Replies
catdaddy
Level 20

Jump to solution

Hi sutieday,

Being a "Gamer" I can understand your frustration .Even as the link you inserted above indicates,10/54 Anti-Virus Engines Detected it with Various Descriptions/Names. Quite often is the case with Steam/Minecraft/HoxHud Mod games and files.