cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hicks870
Level 7

How do you get rid of trojan FakeAlert!fakealert-REPtrojan!!! , tried McAfee & Norton, still have it?

Can someone tell me real simply how to get rid of this virus?  It is called  FakeAlert!fakealert-REPtrojan!!!    and is located on my computer at  C:\ProgramFiles\CommonFiles\InstallShield\Engine\6\Intel32\\Kernel.exe      , How do i get this out of my computer, it will not allow me to take a survey at all?  I have a McAfee subscription i pay monthly for and have for a long time, ran the scan and it showed nothing, so i ran the stinger tool , and it shows it, but it says cannot be repaired.  It won't remove it. I ran McAfee Virtual Technician, only to be told i didn't have any McAfee products downloaded, but i did have, i had the mcafee virus protection downloaded and also the stinger , but virtual technician didn't recognize them.  I stripped off McAfee, and i had a 60 day free trial on this computer when i bought it of Norton and i installed it, ran it and it doesn't catch it either.  Also downloaded Norton's tool and tried it, didn't do it either.  so now back to McAfee, i need this removed from my computer.  I have restored it back to factory every day this week and it is still on my computer.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Peacekeeper
Level 20

Re: How do you get rid of trojan FakeAlert!fakealert-REPtrojan!!! , tried McAfee & Norton, still have it?

Did you have stinger set to report only and have you tried it in safe mode that might free up the file to allow its removal.

Also

ow is your system now? Any changes?

Please download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.

• Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
  • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.