cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

False Positive - and how damaging it is to a small developer

I am a software Author, based in the UK

WHERE .. definitively..  do I submit a false positive - and get a timely response.

I have spent 8 days going via consumer support and  Trustedsources.com to get my URL whitelisted (they stuffed it up the first time) - and now have waited another 4 for a reply from virus_research@avertlabs.com

Today I submitted to datasubmission@mcafee.com  and virus_research@mcafee.com - neither or which yielded any sort of reply or confirmation.

I cannot submit a false positive from within TotalProtection .. which is a glaring and stupid oversight - putting the process well beyond the reach of most consumers.

The McAfee experience has been - *by far* the very worst of all the vendors - and with their huge market share, and backending many 3rd party products and services - they can cause enormous damage to a legitimate small business - In fact ... as a direct result of McAfee's ineptitude I could well go under. I have lost customers, damaged my reputation, wasted hundreds of pounds on Adwords and lost all momentum there, my main target market is the UK - where Mcaffee bundle their antivirus product with BT Internet - thereby excluding millions of my potential customers.

I have hundreds of existing customers who can't accept my updates - some of whom have uninstalled their McAfee products in frustration - even when they restore items for quarantine - they are immediately re-quarantined. Most of my customers are not technical enough to start creating exclusions or firewall rules - amongst those that have tried - only frustration and failure has been reported. McAfe doesn't automatically prompt for firewall access life it should - it just outright blocks my connection with no prompt or warning.