cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

On-access vs on-demand (agentless)

Jump to solution

I'm using agentless MOVE (VMware with NSX, Guest Introspection and SVM appliances).

I'm new to this particular product/setup, but have some past experience with more common McAfee products.

I think I have a good grasp of how on-demand vs on-access works.  I had a recent discussion with someone who stated that the agentless MOVE *required* on-access policies because that's "how it works".  Is that true?

Is on-demand basically useless on an gentless MOVE environment and on-access *must* be enabled?

That conceptually doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
McAfee Employee Thussain
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 4 of 5

Re: On-access vs on-demand (agentless)

Jump to solution

If you refer to the topic Enable and configure on-demand scans on page 31 

It says By default, on-demand scans are not enabled. Other scan settings (for example, exclusions) are
inherited from the client scan policy. 

OAS and ODS are basically independent of each other in a MOVE agentless environment: Yes, they are independent of each other

If you read the above statement, by default, MOVE (whether Multiplatform or Agentless) has only OAS, while ODS is disabled. Hence, we do not recommend shutting down OAS

Was my reply helpful?
If you find this post useful, Please give it a Kudos! Also, Please don't forget to select "Accept as a solution" if this reply resolves your query!

View solution in original post

4 Replies
McAfee Employee Thussain
McAfee Employee
Message 2 of 5

Jump to solution

Thank you for posting your query, I hope this information gives you a better understanding of OAS and ODS in McAfee Move