cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

HIPS Client Task update fails in ePO 5.3

ePO Noob here, so please be gentle!

In ePO, we have an Assigned Client Task to update HIPS to vers 8.0.0.4210 (windows) scheduled to run every day at 8am to 6pm and to repeat every 2 hours.  However, it appears this is not working correctly, as I consistently see 180+ hosts (Out of several thousand) that have an older or no version of HIPS. 

When I Run Client Task Now on individual hosts and chose to update HIPS, I get the following in the Server Task Log:

11/13/17 8:28:02 AMStarted: Sent to 1 computer(s)
11/13/17 8:28:15 AMFailed: Failed RunNow Task

And under Subtasks:

11/13/17 8:28:02 AMStarted: Sent Run Now task "HIPS Update - Windows" to "Hostname"
11/13/17 8:28:06 AMRun now task HIPS Update - Windows received.
11/13/17 8:28:09 AMRun now task started.
11/13/17 8:28:15 AMRun now task HIPS Update - Windows failed.
Details: Deployment/Update task failed, reason "Unknown error"..

Assuming the Agent is the problem, which I found to be consistent in our environment...I've removed the McAfee Agent from specific Hosts and reinstalled using ePO and the Agent's Run Client Task now. All seems to run ok, but HIPS still will not update.

Any help will be appreciated.

Steven

3 Replies
McAfee Employee
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 4

Re: HIPS Client Task update fails in ePO 5.3