Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
onires
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 6

Updating from VirusScan 8.0 to 8.7

I'm updating our corporate VirusScan from 8.0 to 8.7 through our ePO server with the Deployment tasks and it's going rather well. I have noticed that the clients, when going through the update process, pull the 8.7 installation package from our Master Repository along with the subsequent DAT and Engine updates associated with v8.7 after the installation is done. This is causing a lot of network traffic when pushing this to the remote offices. We have several local repositories setup throughout our office locations that have the 8.7 install package and updates needed for 8.7 (DAT/Engine. etc.). Is there a way to have the clients pull the 8.7 installation and subsequent DAT and Engine updates from their local repositories when they receive the Deployment Task from the Master Repository?

I'm still learning all this but my educated guess is that since the Deployment Task is coming from the Master Repository, the clients pull the 8.7 installation package from there. This update causes the sitelist.xml file to become null and the subsequent DAT and Engine updates are pulled from the Master as well until the sitelist.xml file is reloaded. After the full update is performed the clients pull from their local repositories once again and all is well. Only problem with this is that I thought the sitelist.xml file was associated with the ePO agent and not the VirusScan app. BTW... we calculate the nearest repository by ping times.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to make this roll out a little less network intensive if possible. happy
5 Replies

RE: Updating from VirusScan 8.0 to 8.7

Did you have any luck with this? it's an interesting question, I have seen the same thing happen.