Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jwoodmls
Level 10
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 12

High mcshield cpu usage after reboot - ENS

I have some workstations that i'm monitoring where they have had high CPU usage after rebooting for quite awhile that is tied to mcshield.exe.  These are running ENS and are managed by ePO.  The on-demand scan is set to run overnight, and the computers are on during that time, so i don't think it should be running that on reboot. 

I'm still learning to tweak settings, particularly with ENS, so any suggestions on things i may check would be helpful.  Even to lower that CPU usage a little or reduce how long it is high. 

11 Replies
Kenchee_etf
McAfee Employee
McAfee Employee
Message 2 of 12

Re: High mcshield cpu usage after reboot - ENS

Hello @jwoodmls 

Can you check in you have "Scan processes on service startup and content update" enabled in policy:

*** McAfee Endpoint Security 10.6.0 - Threat Prevention Client Interface Reference Guide - Windows
https://docs.mcafee.com/bundle/endpoint-security-10.6.0-threat-prevention-client-interface-reference...

and if you do, can you un-check it and see if that resolves the issue?

Was my reply helpful?

If this information was helpful in any way or answered your question, will you please select Accept as Solution in my reply and together we can help other members?
jwoodmls
Level 10
Message 3 of 12

@Kenchee_etfThank you for that little tip.  I checked that out and I do not have that box checked.

Just out of curiousity, what's the difference between Enable On-Access Scan and Enable On-Access Scan on system startup?  I have both of those selected.

Any other tips greatly appreciated.

Kenchee_etf
McAfee Employee
McAfee Employee
Message 4 of 12

Hello @jwoodmls