cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 3

Endpoint Encryption Question

Hi All,

We are using EPO 4.6.4/EEPC 6.0.2.  We hope to soon upgrade to EEPC v7.  This is my question -- We have a policy set to disable pre-boot authentication when a computer has not synchronized for 30 days.   This way, if a persons laptop is lost or stolen, EEPC will no longer allow the user to login after this much time has elapsed.

We'd like to take it a step further.  Say a user leaves our company, but refuses to return their laptop.  They know the password, so they can login.  Obviously, after 30 days of no sync they will not be able to login any longer because they cannot sync without VPN access (EPO server is on internal network).  However, we'd like to to lock them out sooner, if possible.  Is there a way to remotely disable pre-boot for a given machine or change their EEPC password remotely?

I think with the current version I have the answer is NO.  However, it appears that with v7 some new features were introduced that leverage Intel AMT.  Do these new features make it possible to do this?

2 Replies
Highlighted
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 3

Re: Endpoint Encryption Question

AMT does not really help in this situation, as you need the laptop to connect to a network you can host something on before it can receive an update.

Probably the best thing would be to run an agent handler in your DMZ so external computers on the internet can still get policy updates even when they are not connected to your network - then you can disable the user and they will get locked out even if they are just surfing.

Message was edited by: SafeBoot on 11/13/13 3:40:13 AM EST
Highlighted
Level 12
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 3 of 3

Re: Endpoint Encryption Question

Hi,

In combination with SafeBoot suggestion, you could use the Endpoint Encryption Out Of Band management feature to change a users password.  This request will be processed only during pre-boot, so if machine were left in preboot long enough for it to dial back it would lock the user out as well.

Hope that helps.

You Deserve an Award
Don't forget, when your helpful posts earn a kudos or get accepted as a solution you can unlock perks and badges. Those aren't the only badges, either. How many can you collect? Click here to learn more.

Community Help Hub

    New to the forums or need help finding your way around the forums? There's a whole hub of community resources to help you.

  • Find Forum FAQs
  • Learn How to Earn Badges
  • Ask for Help
Go to Community Help

Join the Community

    Thousands of customers use the McAfee Community for peer-to-peer and expert product support. Enjoy these benefits with a free membership:

  • Get helpful solutions from McAfee experts.
  • Stay connected to product conversations that matter to you.
  • Participate in product groups led by McAfee employees.
Join the Community
Join the Community