cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

Good morning, I have an issue after one of our Admins upgraded EEPC to version 5.2.13.  On some of the PC's upgraded to 5.2.13 the SCM.ini file is being deleted.  When the PC synch with the database, it does not update.  If we copy the SCM.ini file from a backup of config files it will synch with the database and start updating.  Any suggestion?

Thanks in advance

Mike

5 Replies
Reliable Contributor SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 6

Re: SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

can you check sbfiles41.lst (it's a text file) and see if there's an entry for scm.ini ?

Re: SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

I checked one of the PC's and the SCM.INI is not in the sbfiles41.lst.  suggestions?

Thanks Mike

Message was edited by: mrandolp on 1/2/14 12:21:32 PM GMT-06:00
Reliable Contributor SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 4 of 6

Re: SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

hum. the only time I've seen this is when someone added scm.ini into a file group (it does not by default exist in ANY file groups), then of course when they upgraded, the new file group they assigned to the machine did not have the file in it.

On the machines where scm.ini was deleted, is there a "removing file.." entry for it in the client log?

Re: SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

Yes, there is an entry for removing SCM.INI.

12/30/2013 3:09:01 PM Removing file "C:\Program Files\McAfee\Endpoint Encryption for PC\SCM.INI"

Any suggestions for correcting this?

Thanks in Advance

Mike.

Reliable Contributor SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 6 of 6

Re: SCM.ini being deleted After upgrade to EEPC 5.2.13

It means scm.ini existed in a file group that has been removed from the machine.

First question to answer is "why was scm.ini in a file group?" Someone must have added it as it's not there by default.  And adding it as a file is generally a bad idea as you just discovered. If anything it should be added as a merge ini...

So, you can add the file to the new file group you are assigning to the machine, but knowing why it was added in the first place is key to understanding the root cause.

More McAfee Tools to Help You
  • Subscription Service Notification (SNS)
  • How-to: Endpoint Removal Tool
  • Support: Endpoint Security
  • eSupport: Policy Orchestrator
  • Community Help Hub

      New to the forums or need help finding your way around the forums? There's a whole hub of community resources to help you.

    • Find Forum FAQs
    • Learn How to Earn Badges
    • Ask for Help
    Go to Community Help

    Join the Community

      Thousands of customers use the McAfee Community for peer-to-peer and expert product support. Enjoy these benefits with a free membership:

    • Get helpful solutions from McAfee experts.
    • Stay connected to product conversations that matter to you.
    • Participate in product groups led by McAfee employees.
    Join the Community
    Join the Community