cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MBR overwritten - problem to recover data

Hi,

First of all I'm quite new to Safeboot, so please bare with me.

Yesterday I installed anti-spyware tool called Spyhunter, which apparently messed around with the MBR. I couldn't boot up Windows XP anymore so I took a normal XP cd and went into the Recovery Console.

Issued the "fixmbr" and "fixboot" commands - now it's saying "Cant find NTLDR - press CTRL-ALT-DEL to reboot". When I go back into the Recovery Console and do a "dir c:", I get a lot of unreadable characters so I'm assuming this is Safeboot kicking in and preventing me to recover my data ?

Is there still a way to recover my data, and how would I (or our IT guys) do this ..?

Safeboot version is 5.1.7 and I have a username + password if it would be needed.

Thx in advance !!
11 Replies
Reliable Contributor SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 12

RE: MBR overwritten - problem to recover data

if the drive was encrypted, just tell your IT dept do a "restore SBR" with WinTech/SafeTech - , that should fix the problem. If not they can do an emergency boot with SafeTech.

Cool, will do..

But is it normal that when I boot up with a WinTech cd, I get a "Disk Information e002000a" error, when I look at Drive Information ...? :confused:

I didn't authorise myself with the code of the day though - because only our IT guys have access to it, me thinks...

Cheers,
Geert
Reliable Contributor
Message 4 of 12

no, sounds like you don't have the right drivers loaded into your PE cd.

switch your HDD mode into compatibility in the bios and try again - don't forget to switch it back though afterwards.

or, load in the right HDD drivers.

Hm, can't find anything in the BIOS that looks like Compatibility mode.. It's a Dell D620 laptop with an 80Gb IDE hard drive.. so I don't think any additional drivers would have to be loaded during boot-time of the PE cd ?