cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to migrate machines from one SafeBoot server to another

Greetings from Dallas, Texas.

I am in the middle of migrating SafeBoot 4.2.15 to MEE 5500. I need more machines to test this.

I am trying to move some machines that are used for testing from the production environment to the test server.

How can I export and import machines? I am having difficulty with this and I cannot find documentation.

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to SafeBoot (as in two weeks old).

Regards,
10 Replies
SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 11

RE: How to migrate machines from one SafeBoot server to another

moving machines between databases is not really supported - it can be done but it's expensive in terms of time and effort, and also very risky. You can't move users between systems at all - that's simply impossible due to the crypto. If you want to do this you need to buy a few days of professional services to work it all out.

If your databases are related (if you started off with a fragment architecture), then of course moving is entirely possible.

WOW. We did one yesterday. We moved one test machine from the PROD environment to the test environment. I just didn't get to see how it was done by the guy who did it.
SafeBoot
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Message 4 of 11

chances are it will blow up pretty soon. It would only work if the two db's were almost identical - ie in their out-of-box guise.

certainly he would not have been able to move the users, or files etc with the machine.

S.

The DB's are identical. All settings, etc.

This is for testing purposes only. I am surprised that you would recommend professional services for a test environment. I have destroyed that server four times and reloaded without a problem. I just need one more machine that has 4.2.15 client on it so I can watch it upgrade the client to EEM.