cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 6

EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

We have a machine been uninstalled from EEPC server Which was not encrypted. I did not delete the machine object, it was left as it is with status "Remove and Reboot"

When we reinstall EEPC on same laptop, EEPC log say "Machine already existing" and do not perform synchronization.
The command GetMachineName return this error:

Connection result:

ResultCode = 0x00000000
ResultDescription = The operation completed successfully.

Command result:

Command = GetLocalMachineName
ResultCode = 0xe0050001
ResultDescription = Endpoint Encryption for PC not activated

If I move the machine to enable, the synchro is working and machine status remain as "Currently disabled"
Is this a Bug in EEPC? in 4.2 it used to create a duplicate entry but EEPC is using/trying to synchro on the same Object. 
5 Replies
Highlighted

Re: EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

You should delete machine object using EEM, prior to new client installation. What object ID is reported on client machine and which in database?

Highlighted
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 3 of 6

Re: EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

It's possible that it's been moved to an 'Uninstall' group in order to remove the software.  If so, then re-installing the software will not actually install - this is correct behaviour.  If you want it to re-encrypt and enable pre-boot authentication, then it needs to be moved back into a group which allows it to re-encrypt.

Highlighted

Re: EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

Basically to fix the issue,  you'll have to delete the old machine object.  Once you do that, the client will synch and a new object will be created.

We have seen this a few times.  Sometimes, it will create a new object with the 000x appended,  and sometimes it won't create a new object at all.  Never gotten a good explanation from McAfee on the difference. There isn't really a reason to keep the old machine object around.  If you do want to keep it recoverable, just don't check "permanently delete"

Highlighted
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 5 of 6

Re: EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

the difference is if you created the install set for a group, or for a machine (check scm.ini).

if it's the latter, the machine will ONLY ever use that object name, if it's in use, the machine won't make another one.

If the object is available though (ie was legally removed, or you used clearkey), the new install will take it over - note then though if the status is set to "disable" or "remove", the new machine will do exactly that, so you'll end up in a loop.

Message was edited by: SafeBoot on 12/17/09 10:15:30 AM GMT-05:00
Highlighted
Level 9
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 6 of 6

Re: EEPC 5.1.9 strange behaviour

As mentioned, either delete the old machine key or use this command from the sbadmcl.exe tool

-Command:ClearMachineKey -Machine:XXXXXXXXXXXXX

You Deserve an Award
Don't forget, when your helpful posts earn a kudos or get accepted as a solution you can unlock perks and badges. Those aren't the only badges, either. How many can you collect? Click here to learn more.

Community Help Hub

    New to the forums or need help finding your way around the forums? There's a whole hub of community resources to help you.

  • Find Forum FAQs
  • Learn How to Earn Badges
  • Ask for Help
Go to Community Help

Join the Community

    Thousands of customers use the McAfee Community for peer-to-peer and expert product support. Enjoy these benefits with a free membership:

  • Get helpful solutions from McAfee experts.
  • Stay connected to product conversations that matter to you.
  • Participate in product groups led by McAfee employees.
Join the Community
Join the Community