cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

after McAfee update media extender disconnects

Hey All,

After I rebooted my computer for a McAffee Ant-viruus suite (from Cox) software update, My Ceton Windows Media Extender will now randomly disconnects,

After looking in the event log I have found the following (BTW i fix computers for a living at a schoold district)

Event 109 Media Center Extender :

An unauthorized window was detected while running Windows Media Center with file name 'C:\Program Files\Common Files\McAfee\Platform\McUICnt.exe', could not retrieve the window title.

The same event appears about a second later then a new event appears

Event 123, Media Center Exender

The Media Center Extender session was terminated because an unauthorized window opened in the session.

McAfee, please re-write your code, otherwise your product will be uninstalled

in another (independant) forum a user had the same issue uninstalled McAfee and the issues stopped and had the same error message as me

Thanks

18 Replies
Reliable Contributor Peacekeeper
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 19

Re: after McAfee update media extender disconnects

The only way to get this fixed is to tell the developers as they do not read this forum. The best way is to call support and tell them and to escalate the issue. That will get you a job number which you can reference and also get the issue on their radar. I will also pass this up the line.

Oh can you post your version number please for Mcafee security centre

Message was edited by: Peacekeeper on 13/11/13 3:50:06 PM

I've got the same problem. Started in late August 2013 or September 2013.

The XBOX extender disconnects every 3 1/2 minutes or so. Three messages appear in the same series each time.