Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SeeSee
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 8

Question about the McAfee "Pre-Install Tool."

Hello.  I've been using McAfee for several years now and have successfully installed and uninstalled the program(s) many times. In the past, I've uninstalled using the recommended  procedures which included removal using the Windows Add/Remove Program Tool followed by final cleaning using the  MCPR.exe tool.  Today I've discovered something called the "McAfee Pre-Install tool."  Is the use of this tool necessary, recommended, or mandatory?  I currently have (and will be uninstalling) MIS 2010 and will be replacing it with MIS 2011.   I have Windows XP and will be using the CD method of installation...as always  (I prefer this method over yearly activation via a subscription plan).  Thanks, in advance, for any and all replys.

7 Replies
k3tg
Level 14
Message 2 of 8

Re: Question about the McAfee "Pre-Install Tool."

I would suggest you follow the instructions in this link

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS100119

to assist you when you install your new software. The preinstall tool is included in the link and please be sure to use the MCPR removal tool when you remove the old software and reboot the computer. MCPR is found at the top of this page under Useful Links

Mcpreinstall resets IE to defaults as well as some other things that I am not privy to.

Note the current 2011 boxed product is not the 2011 product but the 10.5 version ie current 2010 product. This will be upgraded to the new 2011 product when it is released. Release starting soon.

When the 2011 boxed product is released I have no idea. Just thought you'd better know...

Message was edited by: Peacekeeper on 26/03/11 7:45:47 AM
jaymfe
Level 12
Message 4 of 8

SeeSee,