cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd 're-start your computer now' activity after update.

Hello, I have been using McAfee NetProtect Plus for about 7 months & it is supplied by my ISP (BT Yahoo!). Today I had a major McAfee update & a pop-up appeared over the systems tray informing me of the update. I clicked the 'download & re-start your computer now' button on the pop-up & my laptop closed down. It then went into a hibernation mode & I had to manually shut it down (with the on/off switch) & start the computer up again. Usually the start-up is automatic after an update like this.

Has anyone else had this behaviour happen to them? 

Message was edited by: Daveski17 on 11/19/09 9:24 AM
10 Replies
btasm
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 11

Re: Odd 're-start your computer now' activity after update.

I've experienced a somewhat similar issue. After getting the popup update notice, and installing the update, when my home computer restarted, I lost - and still do not have - use of my keyboard on the affected computer. This occurred immediately after the computer restarted. I could not even type in my password for my user account (Vista). Moreover, the keyboard menue/device drive no longer lists my keyboard as an option. This is a real problem for me since I am now without a keyboard and have no way to reinstall it.

Message was edited by: btasm on 11/19/09 1:01 PM

That's not good. I have a feeling my probem happened on the last McAfee update as well. I have no idea what is causing this phenomenon.

btasm
Level 7
Message 4 of 11

I have sent an email to McAfee support today. Thus far no reply.