cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
owd
Level 7

How can I block McAfees spam on my PC?

Hi,

Is it possible to block McAfee from displaying these kind of annoying adverts on my PC (shown below)? I have a paid subscription for the Internet Security Suite but don't appreciate them pimping out there other products even if it is only occassionally. I'm paying McAfee to block this type of junk not to add to it. Is there a "Disable McAfee Spam" setting that I've overlooked in the security suite?

Thanks

http://oi45.tinypic.com/xe3fxl.jpg

0 Kudos
15 Replies
Hayton
Level 18

Re: How can I block McAfees spam on my PC?

owd wrote:

Hi,

Is it possible to block McAfee from displaying these kind of annoying adverts on my PC (shown below)?

Is there a "Disable McAfee Spam" setting that I've overlooked in the security suite?

I'm afraid not. We wish it were possible. Unfortunately the Marketing Division insist on these pop-ups and there's no way to overrule them or subvert their machinations. The pop-ups are here to stay, I'm sorry to say, for the foreseeable future.

0 Kudos
owd
Level 7

Not the answer that I wanted but thanks all the same

0 Kudos
Hayton
Level 18

I didn't think it would be. But at least you didn't get any of the usual corporate-speak extolling the virtues of these things. And as it's for Winferno you would have got the same answer (more or less) from the other mods. We think advertising a registry cleaner is a Bad Idea, period, and a registry cleaner from a third-party outfit is an Even Worse Idea. We've made our views known loud and clear several times but McAfee presumably has its own reasons for continuing to promote this stuff. The mods don't endorse it, and we don't mind saying so.

Renewal notices, now .... that's a whole different can of worms. Let's not go there.

0 Kudos
Peacekeeper
Level 20

Out of interest is this a Dell PC?

0 Kudos
owd
Level 7

Peacekeeper wrote:

Out of interest is this a Dell PC?