cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
maestro72x
Level 7

Cant connect to internet after removing McAfee Internet Security Suite

I am a Tech working on a clients machine remotely while im away.

I was trying to install updates on his Vista machine (yes I know vista is horrible)

Updates failed over and over and I read that MaAfee was the problem so I removed McAfee.

Now my client cannot connect to the internet at all either wifi or hard wired.

I removed McAfee via the Add/Remove tools and also got him to run MCPR.exe

I checked the proxy settings all clear.

dont know what else to try considering im having to walk him through everything over the phone.

Ideas?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
exbrit
Level 21

Re: Cant connect to internet after removing McAfee Internet Security Suite

Vista's fine and I use it all the time, Vista SP2 that is.

McAfee shouldn't have any effect on the internet connection unless something else was at play such as an infection or the user had been using registry cleaners and removed essential keys.

When McAfee installs it automatically detects the connection and configures itself around it.  When uninstalled it leaves the connection how it found it.

In Vista have you tried going into the Network and Sharing Center in Control Panel and repairing the connection?

Here's another thing you could try:  http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/06/18/repair-and-reset-windows-vista-tcpip-winsock-catalog-corrup...

Plus there is always System Restore to go back to before all this happened but don't forget to update Windows and McAfee, if still installed.

0 Kudos
Aldrin
Level 12

In addition to that, you can also check and see the connectivity in Safe Mode with Networking....

0 Kudos
maestro72x
Level 7

Yes I did try to reset the win sock luck

Message was edited by: maestro72x on 1/28/11 8:29:52 PM CST
0 Kudos
exbrit
Level 21

It's probably just a driver needs reinstalling.  What does Device Manager say under Network Adapters?