cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wiczjr
Level 7

Auto-Delete Feature

I think the most annoying thing about McAfee is that it auto-deletes my tools from my flash drive (the false positive detection is pretty high).  Most of the virus removals that I do here at the shop have McAfee virus "protection."

For example, someone brings me their infected computer.  They are running McAfee and are plagued by your usual trojan fake-alert virus.  I'll plug in my flash drive to run a few utilities that I like to use to begin the cleaning process, and all of a sudden my tools are gone because McAfee saved me from my evil tools!  Why not delete the virus while you're at it, geniuses?

I just thought I'd share that.  Any thoughts?

0 Kudos
1 Reply
exbrit
Level 21

Re: Auto-Delete Feature

If something is deleted by mistake that means VirusScan considers it a risk.   It can be reinstated from the Quarantined items section of SecurityCenter once VirusScan has been temporarily disabled and then you can report the false finding to McAfee.

Ideas on that here:  https://community.mcafee.com/thread/2016

Better to be safe than sorry.

0 Kudos