Did you mean: 
Maros
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 11

Solidcore blocking file write in observation mode

Jump to solution

Hello All,

I have installed Solidcore in Observe mode on several servers and the issue was reported to me that Solidcore is blocking the deleting or renaming the files.

This is the event for example. I'm kinda new to Solidcore so any help will be appreciated.

McAfee Application Control prevented an attempt to modify this file because this file is whitelisted. To make changes to whitelisted files, define a policy with the relevant rules.
File Write Denied
E:\XXXXXXX\Install_Fonts.vbs
10/22/19 11:08:10 AM CEST
WRITE_DENIED
No
No
XXX
044f48aa4b726924881597815a7c1b06
C:\Windows\explorer.exe
2381c7077d48ca9d7a39af7fa39f3d367678cc3a
888a2105f62ea40654a1b78de8e76ca1131c16e1d9fd28c75d7f4f3e1c0b8ff5
Not yet Reconciled
Not Applicable
FCN02

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
McAfee Employee AdithyanT
McAfee Employee
Message 11 of 11

Re: Solidcore blocking file write in observation mode

Jump to solution

Hi @Maros,

Thank you for your response. Ideally, Block should not have happened. I am surprised that you have 2 machines with the same issue. Hence I would recommend creating a Service Request with us.

Can you confirm if a re-installation has any effect at all?

Apart from the below reason or a pending reboot, There should not be any other reason for Observe mode to block the script!

Why am i seeing blocking in observe mode?
If reputation is enabled in the Application Control Options policy, MAC still prevents execution of potentially malicious files while in Update/Observe mode. It is advised to trust applications which are needed in the environment yet given a low reputation score in the TIE reputations page. If the reputation is from GTI, open a service request with Technical Support to analyze and suppress the detection.

Source: https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB78223

Was my reply helpful?